Hydaelyn Role-Players
Roleplaying a Musician Advice - Printable Version

+- Hydaelyn Role-Players (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18)
+-- Forum: Community (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18/forumdisplay.php?fid=8)
+--- Forum: RP Discussion (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18/forumdisplay.php?fid=13)
+--- Thread: Roleplaying a Musician Advice (/showthread.php?tid=11903)

Roleplaying a Musician Advice - Guitar Nerd - 06-04-2015

I am fairly new to roleplaying, only been doing it since last October, and I'm looking for advice on rping out music. As a musician myself I like to have characters who are also musicians, but I find that I have trouble really describing the sounds very well and therefore it's not as fun for me, and I assume for the other players, as I would like it to be. So would any experience roleplayers have some suggestions on how to do it well, or maybe even leave an example of rping a song.

I'll also leave an example of my character's lute style and a song that she might do:

Lute style: [youtube]DqBVdl7EoXs[/youtube]

Song she might do, also an example of her singing voice: [youtube]xkPpBFeqrdU[/youtube]

And feel free to post other songs for examples of how to rp playing music.

RE: Roleplaying a Musician Advice - Telluride - 06-04-2015

We have a whole host of IC bards who do this same thing!

For myself, I will usually just describe the initial opening of a song, in terms of the music: "A rollicking beat", "A slow-tempoed plucking of the strings,", "A raucous medley", and then simply go to reciting the lyrics, using the musical note (ALT+1+3) to indicate that they are part of the song. For an ending, I might mention a crescendo, or a fading note, or the like. I find trying to use words to describe the music itself to be a bit tedious.

If you want to see some of us in action, there will be a performance event on June 14th:

Celebration of the Wanderer