Hydaelyn Role-Players
How To IC Tumblr - Printable Version

+- Hydaelyn Role-Players (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18)
+-- Forum: Community (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18/forumdisplay.php?fid=8)
+--- Forum: Character Workshop (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18/forumdisplay.php?fid=34)
+--- Thread: How To IC Tumblr (/showthread.php?tid=11960)

How To IC Tumblr - Steel Wolf - 06-08-2015

Okay, so..I'm leaning towards the decision to create a Tumblr blog as Steel's IC journal. I'm not sure a great deal of people will read it, but if nothing else it will operate as a place for me to practice my writing as well as develop my headcanon for Steel.

Thing is, I'm an absolute Tumblr noob and I'm not really sure how to build it and dress it up.

I'll perhaps start with the ideas and vision I have for the blog.

As I said, the thing will be a journal for Steel, and so I'd like it to have that same sort of appearance...something with a leatherbound parchment feel--something rugged and road-worn, with stains of the elements and her own sweat or blood on occasion.

I also feel like some sort of pictures now and again would be a welcome addition, but I don't draw really well anymore and Steel is definitely no artist. Now, the first though I have is "Well I'm a bad drawer and Steel has no artistic skill, so it'll work perfectly!"...but I'm not so sure that it'll be really palatable. Tumblrs full of excellently-drawn art appeal because of excellently-drawn art. I have a hard time thinking anyone will subscribe or even want to look at a journal with awful doodles.

These are just my meandering wobblythoughts about the whole thing and was looking to aggregate ideas, opinions and examples. A search for "tumblr blog" upended the entire forum into my lap, so hopefully this thread can become a fixed point for people like myself intrigued by the idea but otherwise ignorant on how to use Tumblr to its best potential.

Thanks for the read, folks. <3