Hydaelyn Role-Players
New FFIXIV Roleplayer: Need Help with Lore and Backstory! - Printable Version

+- Hydaelyn Role-Players (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18)
+-- Forum: Community (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18/forumdisplay.php?fid=8)
+--- Forum: RP Discussion (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18/forumdisplay.php?fid=13)
+--- Thread: New FFIXIV Roleplayer: Need Help with Lore and Backstory! (/showthread.php?tid=12257)

New FFIXIV Roleplayer: Need Help with Lore and Backstory! - Ashley Summers - 06-24-2015

Hello everybody, and thanks for taking the time to read this!

I'm a veteran MMO roleplayer who is looking for some advice on my character's backstory. This is my first Final Fantasy game, though I have some experience with the franchise second-hand via friends. I'm trying to piece together the lore, but I would like some advice for a good foundation. I need help deciding where my character comes from and where she might be going.

Here is a basic list of things I want my character to be:
  1. Midland Hyur.
  2. Originates from a small village or town.
Though I prefer to learn about the world of FFXIV, its customs, and its people first-hand from roleplay interaction, I understand there are certain things my character should know simply by being a denizen of Eorzea. Here are some things I need help with:
  1. What historical events should my character be aware of?
  2. What cultures and traditions are considered common knowledge (including knowledge of cultures and traditions of other, non-hyur races)?
  3. From what region could my character originate from (small village/town)?
Thank you very much for any help you can provide to get me started in the roleplay community!

RE: New FFIXIV Roleplayer: Need Help with Lore and Backstory! - Aya - 06-24-2015