Hydaelyn Role-Players
I'm new to FFXIV and RP. Is it too soon? - Printable Version

+- Hydaelyn Role-Players (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18)
+-- Forum: RPC (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18/forumdisplay.php?fid=25)
+--- Forum: Welcome Desk (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18/forumdisplay.php?fid=10)
+--- Thread: I'm new to FFXIV and RP. Is it too soon? (/showthread.php?tid=12345)

I'm new to FFXIV and RP. Is it too soon? - Bazzar Nicklebottoms - 06-30-2015

Hey guys! I just started playing FFXIV 5 days ago and came across this forum while reading about Balmung. I'm completely new to roleplaying but I love the concept and really want to get into it. But am I too new at the game to start? I know very little about the lore but I'm willing to read into Wikis if needed. Also, Is it bad or frowned upon to roleplay as the opposite gender? That's probably a commonly asked question but, as I said, I'm really new to roleplay. Thanks for having such a positive and nice RP community here!.

RE: I'm new to FFXIV and RP. Is it too soon? - T'caska Khevo - 06-30-2015

Its never too early to start RPing in this game. What server are you on? If its Balmung then kudos for being able to make the character, our server has been hard to get into lately.

When it comes to knowing lore I would suggest playing through a lot of the Main Story Quest (MSQ) and your class quests to get an idea of how Eorzea works. Most people are fine with a little lore bending but you just make sure you look out for breaking points, as with any RP setting. 9 times out of 10, its whether or not you can play your character as believable rather than having a believable back-story.