Hydaelyn Role-Players
The Auri RP Advantage: Raen or Xaela? - Printable Version

+- Hydaelyn Role-Players (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18)
+-- Forum: Community (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18/forumdisplay.php?fid=8)
+--- Forum: RP Discussion (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18/forumdisplay.php?fid=13)
+--- Thread: The Auri RP Advantage: Raen or Xaela? (/showthread.php?tid=13134)

The Auri RP Advantage: Raen or Xaela? - Desitjant - 08-24-2015

Heya,

So I'm just starting out with FFXIV post-Heavensward, and trying to decide which of the Au Ra subgroups to run with. (Not concerned enough with starting stats for that to be a determining factor.)

I think the concepts of the Raen are promising enough, but at the moment, it feels like the Xaela have a great deal more to build upon, in an RP-sense. The sheer number of clans and the relationships between them create such an incredible backdrop, no?

Aesthetically, I'm really digging the shiny-golden-Raen that I whipped up, and I am aware of the Xaela clan that accepts Raen outcasts... but that's hardly the most interesting tribe out there!

Any thoughts, opinions, flames are much appreciated!

RE: The Auri RP Advantage: Raen or Xaela? - Tiergan - 08-24-2015

Maybe your Raen has heard of [Insert Tribe You Like Best Here] and wishes they were more like them despite being a part of the tribe that accepts Raen.

It means if you run into another player from that tribe, it might make for an interesting dynamic.

RE: The Auri RP Advantage: Raen or Xaela? - Blue - 08-24-2015

I honestly prefer the Raen from a stricly strategic RP advantage point. The reason being. with the exception of the Hotgo, the Xaela require a tribe, thus other RPers (or RP NPCs), in order to follow their canon best.

The Raen are instead known to be solitary, with no tribes. This would make it easier for you RP, have your character make sense being alone, and not depend on other RPers or NPCs.