Hydaelyn Role-Players
FFXIV jobs in RP - Printable Version

+- Hydaelyn Role-Players (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18)
+-- Forum: Community (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18/forumdisplay.php?fid=8)
+--- Forum: RP Discussion (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18/forumdisplay.php?fid=13)
+--- Thread: FFXIV jobs in RP (/showthread.php?tid=13421)

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5

FFXIV jobs in RP - Sarina Alyne - 09-15-2015

I've been roleplaying for many years, and have only just started to get into roleplaying on FFXIV (Balmung). However, before I start searching for roleplay, I figured it would be logical to ask a few lore-related questions to avoid annoying anybody.

Obviously, I realize that any integration with the story is taboo- yet I must ask how the job system works into it. My character is a White Mage, and it is a pretty significant part of her character. Would that generally be accepted in some manner?

Thank you in advance.

RE: General FFXIV RP lore questions! - FreelanceWizard - 09-15-2015

(09-15-2015, 10:12 AM)Harmony Wrote: Obviously, I realize that any integration with the story is taboo- yet I must ask how the job system works into it. My character is a White Mage, and it is a pretty significant part of her character. Would that generally be accepted in some manner?

This is a pretty hot and oft discussed topic. Just search "white mage lore" here and you'll see. Smile Given the lore around White Mage -- which largely revolves around how the singular Warrior of Light is the only non-Padjal to have been taught it in centuries -- you need to have a pretty solid explanation for how you got access to a power that at least one group (the Padjal) indisputably tries to restrict. The devs have confirmed that there are other means to access Succor, but those means may or may not be bad (depending on how you interpret what they've said). Even with a good explanation of how you learned it, there will be groups of RPers that won't accept the claim.