Hydaelyn Role-Players
Meaningful names - Printable Version

+- Hydaelyn Role-Players (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18)
+-- Forum: Community (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18/forumdisplay.php?fid=8)
+--- Forum: RP Discussion (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18/forumdisplay.php?fid=13)
+--- Thread: Meaningful names (/showthread.php?tid=14067)

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5

Meaningful names - mongi291 - 10-29-2015

Have you ever given to one of your characters a name with an actual meaning that is somehow related to them?
For example, my latest character is a Doman ninja, but she puts ninjutsu and her other skills to use as a mercenary. Thus, I called her Ume Kogane.
Well, I'm not really an expert on japanese, but Ume means "plum", which is considered as a symbol of devotion, and Kogane, among its multiple meanings, can mean "small sum of money".
So, her name -could- be interpreted as "devotion for a small sum of money", which I think it's fitting for a mercenary.

RE: Meaningful names - SicketySix - 10-29-2015

Wow I must admit that is way more thought out than what I do,
I create my characters appearance, then stare at them for the next 2 hours repeating names in my head until one seems to suit them

RE: Meaningful names - C'kayah Polaali - 10-29-2015

Not in Final Fantasy, no. My main character in Eve Online, however, was named for her intended profession: Shintoko, which is a sort of basket, and she was intended to be a smuggler.

RE: Meaningful names - Arcian - 10-29-2015

To the best of my knowledge, martel is an archaic French word for hammer, and Martell is the Germanic variant.

Arcian is someone who leaders point at things (or people) who need to be beaten down; a blunt instrument.

A hammer, if you will.

RE: Meaningful names - Aya - 10-29-2015

(10-29-2015, 01:52 PM)Arcian Wrote: To the best of my knowledge, martel is an archaic French word for hammer, and Martell is the Germanic variant.