Hydaelyn Role-Players
Etiquette - Printable Version

+- Hydaelyn Role-Players (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18)
+-- Forum: Community (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18/forumdisplay.php?fid=8)
+--- Forum: RP Discussion (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18/forumdisplay.php?fid=13)
+--- Thread: Etiquette (/showthread.php?tid=14737)

Pages: 1 2

Etiquette - Nikobi Eyre - 12-27-2015

Hey folks!

So I had a question on RP etiquette. I apologize if this question was discussed in another thread. Admittedly, I am still relatively new to RPing and as such there are certain modes of etiquette I remain incognizant of. Here's the scenario..

You walk into a location and overhear/see a handful of people RPing. As it turns out, they are discussing something that your particular character might find of interest or relevant to them and their story. My question is.. is it considered poor etiquette to jump in and join their particular RP without a formal invitation to do so? 

I suppose one could argue that simply sending any of them a /tell beforehand might be warranted, and I probably will do that in the future. However, if the RP was intended to be kept between a select group of characters, then wouldn't they perhaps take their RP to a more private forum.. such as group, LS and/or FC chat?

What is acceptable etiquette in this situation?

RE: Etiquette - Warren Castille - 12-27-2015

Depends on the people in question, really. Some people treat RPing in public like an open invitation, and some people are touchy about it. Sending a tell first is really the best way to suss out which is which.

RE: Etiquette - McBeefâ„¢ - 12-27-2015

My rule of thumb is, if an RP is in an open area with high amounts of RP, it is open game.

However as Warren says, a quick tell 'Mind if I join in?' is the safest way forward.

RE: Etiquette - Nebbs - 12-27-2015

(12-27-2015, 05:52 AM)McBeefâ„¢ Wrote: My rule of thumb is, if an RP is in an open area with high amounts of RP, it is open game.