Hydaelyn Role-Players
Am I in the right place? - Printable Version

+- Hydaelyn Role-Players (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18)
+-- Forum: RPC (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18/forumdisplay.php?fid=25)
+--- Forum: Welcome Desk (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18/forumdisplay.php?fid=10)
+--- Thread: Am I in the right place? (/showthread.php?tid=15780)

Am I in the right place? - metafarion - 04-07-2016

Hi everyone, I'm brand new to FFXIV.  I've played a handful of other MMOs, most notably WoW back in the day, but frequently became impatient with the constant immersion-breaking actions of other players who seemed to regard these games as combat-oriented Excel spreadsheets.

An RP community seems the natural antidote, but I'm not really sure if I'm up to the level of detail that seems to be expected.  I'm less interested in complex back-stories and character arcs than in cohesive in-game personalities and interactions.  I detest MMO jargon and players doing stuff that takes me out of the world; the thrill of the game comes through when people portray unique characters doing interesting things instead of just themselves playing a game.

I guess in brief, I'd like to play in character like 95% of the time and interact with people doing the same, but I don't know if my idea of "character" qualifies me to participate.  I'd rather not have to study huge amounts of lore and world history before even beginning the adventure.

RE: Am I in the right place? - Faye - 04-07-2016

Hello there! I'd say you are in the right place. You will find all sorts here. You will find those who sticklers for lore and intense backstories, and those who aren't. You'll just to have go through some trial and error to meet people you vibe with and find your niche in the community.

RE: Am I in the right place? - Vachir Qalli - 04-07-2016