Hydaelyn Role-Players
Bamboozled in Balmung: Tonsa' questions about creating my first Xaela. - Printable Version

+- Hydaelyn Role-Players (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18)
+-- Forum: Community (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18/forumdisplay.php?fid=8)
+--- Forum: Character Workshop (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18/forumdisplay.php?fid=34)
+--- Thread: Bamboozled in Balmung: Tonsa' questions about creating my first Xaela. (/showthread.php?tid=19344)

Bamboozled in Balmung: Tonsa' questions about creating my first Xaela. - Mao - 05-11-2017

Greetings and salutations! I transferred to Balmung not too long ago, and now I'm ready to begin creating my first character. I'm not new to roleplay-- though, this is my first time roleplaying in an mmo. There's so much lore to remember it's sort of intimidating.

Firstly, I've been stuck on names. Sources for 15th century mongolian names seem to be limited. Would Noyonjin be acceptable? Since Noyon = prince, and jin is one of the modifiers, I was going for something along the lines of "Of a prince." Is that too far of a stretch?

I know that I want my Xaela to come from an original tribe. How the heck do I go about creating a name for one of those? Help? Furthermore, are player-created tribes frowned upon in the community?

Are Xaela familiar with magic? It doesn't seem like any of the tribes are affiliated with anything of the like.

Finally, are there any goodreads to help get me better versed in Au Ra lore?

Any tips or recommendations about anything would be appreciated! Thank you in advance for your help. I look forward to meeting everyone!

RE: Bamboozled in Balmung: Tonsa' questions about creating my first Xaela. - Kilieit - 05-11-2017

In order: