Hydaelyn Role-Players
New person not sure where to start. - Printable Version

+- Hydaelyn Role-Players (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18)
+-- Forum: RPC (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18/forumdisplay.php?fid=25)
+--- Forum: Welcome Desk (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18/forumdisplay.php?fid=10)
+--- Thread: New person not sure where to start. (/showthread.php?tid=19937)

New person not sure where to start. - Magma442 - 06-30-2017

So I'm relatively new to MMOs only starting the game a few months ago. Looking into RPing it seems fun and I don't mind creating an alt on the RP servers. I however have a few questions.

Where do I start and how do I get into roleplay?

Like I said I'm new to MMOs in general and looking at everything is kind of intimidating. I don't know which linkshell/FC I should join or where to begin.

I guess the type of character I want to RP as and am looking for in other RP's are goofy characters. I'm not the biggest fan of overtly edgy, dark, brooding, or serious RP's. I'm more looking for players/guilds that enjoy a more lighthearted tone.

Can you guys help give me some advice and tips on where to start as a greenhorn rp'er?

Thank you!

RE: New person not sure where to start. - Thunderbolt300 - 06-30-2017

Hey there, and welcome aboard to the RPC! Thumbsup

So for starters, you'll want to try and move over to an unofficial RP server- that's really the best option in terms of time and effort for getting quickly connected and putting tire to the road here. Currently, your best choice is for Mateus with Balmung locked down. Now, I don't know about Mateus, but at least here on Balmung, you could visit the Quicksand and either watch people RP or cut your teeth on it in an open, PUG setting.