Hydaelyn Role-Players
Magic and how that shi works - Printable Version

+- Hydaelyn Role-Players (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18)
+-- Forum: Community (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18/forumdisplay.php?fid=8)
+--- Forum: Lore Discussion (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18/forumdisplay.php?fid=49)
+--- Thread: Magic and how that shi works (/showthread.php?tid=20440)

Magic and how that shi works - Elmeric - 08-24-2017

Okay so this may be odd, may have been answered already, or what have you but I am rather new to this whole thing and am very curious about how people think of this.

I have roleplayed for a LONG time but very rarely do I dabble with magic rather than just a good natural sword and board. Of course, the one time I decide to go magically inclined I decide to do it in a game where I cannot tell the difference of each magick so I am here...on my knees...begging you all for your glorious supply of knowledge. 

What is the difference between aether, magic, and succor?

I intend to play a healer of sorts, purely conjurer with some elemental affinities to match but I am curious how that works.
For example:

What skills does WHM itself carry versus conjurer? 
Also we have skills like bards flaming arrows, and dragoons using their Dragonfire dive. Are they super charging aether and making a flame or can a skilled magic user simply call fire forth like conjurers do the other elements?

What exactly is aether? I know it is in all living things but can you hyper focus aether and create something new?

Can only the conjurers manipulate elements wind/water/ such and such?

And the last question which is going to seem odd in comparison... what is with the chirurgeons in Ishgard? Are they just a fancy name for conjurers or do they handle differently? 

Any help is greatly appreciated, thank you all so much

RE: Magic and how that shi works - Sounsyy - 08-24-2017

Firstly, lemme link you a couple of pages which have the lore behind a lot of your questions: