Hydaelyn Role-Players
Retconning a Red Mage - Printable Version

+- Hydaelyn Role-Players (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18)
+-- Forum: Community (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18/forumdisplay.php?fid=8)
+--- Forum: Character Workshop (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18/forumdisplay.php?fid=34)
+--- Thread: Retconning a Red Mage (/showthread.php?tid=20576)

Retconning a Red Mage - TeeBeeDee - 09-12-2017

Hi, I started playing my character, Tzain Nival, for the first time since before patch 2.1. When I returned i got the expansion and really fell for the Red Mage. Tzain was already a 50 White Mage and a 50 Black Mage.

But when I was antiquating myself with the Lore I was reminded that being a White Mage or a Black Mage and NOT being the Warrior of Light (Which i have no intention of claiming to be in RP terms) is essentially illegal. 

So my thought is, What if I was a Red Mage all along? And on occassions when I'm playing white mage healer I'm really just utilizing the Red Magic skills to enhance my conjuration.

Basically, I started in the Conjurer guild, then studied at Thaumaturgy. Then had the bright idea of using all 6 elements. The Red Mage trainer finds me, thinks this is hysterical given how I'm going about it Geek. And decides to show me how it's really done. In the process showing me White and Black Magic. Learning the spells of White Magic and having a background in Conjuration would make me a pseudo-white mage.  Although I think that I should act like doing it without balancing with black magic is a strain over time.

Anyway, does this sound feasible with the lore? The description of Red Magic only says it allows me to accelerate my aether to cast spells using my personal reserves that would normally require elementals or tapping the land. Or Maybe I just haven't followed the questline far enough, I'm just barely started on that. 

Thanks muchley,
Tzain Nival - Balmung

RE: Retconning a Red Mage - Maia - 09-12-2017