Hydaelyn Role-Players
Lore-Appropriate (Non)Profanity - Printable Version

+- Hydaelyn Role-Players (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18)
+-- Forum: Community (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18/forumdisplay.php?fid=8)
+--- Forum: RP Discussion (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18/forumdisplay.php?fid=13)
+--- Thread: Lore-Appropriate (Non)Profanity (/showthread.php?tid=3831)

Pages: 1 2 3

Lore-Appropriate (Non)Profanity - Tarot - 08-22-2013

Do your characters swear? Mine usually do. Since I am new to the FF universe, I am looking for help with creative, lore-appropriate ways to exclaim surprise, disgust, anger, pain, etc. in character without actually swearing. I have seen "By the Twelve!" but that is a little tame for me.

So, let's have it! IC cussin' up a blue streak (without the, you know, actual cussin'.)

RE: Creative, Lore-Appropriate (Non)Profanity - FreelanceWizard - 08-22-2013

I've seen NPCs drop "Thal's bloody balls!" (shortened to "Thal's balls!") and "Sweet Nophica's tits!" -- which is rather appropriate if you've seen the concept art for Nophica (on the concept art card for the Twin Adders).

I suspect you could use the same construction to come up with all kinds of profanities on the Twelve, from the tame ("Thaliak's beard!") to the most foul ("Nymeia's <insert lewd body part here>!").

RE: Creative, Lore-Appropriate (Non)Profanity - Quuyn - 08-22-2013

...Go hump a Cactuar. Cactuar

RE: Creative, Lore-Appropriate (Non)Profanity - Fox - 08-22-2013

I've seen "Godsdamn" quite a bit and "Mother's teat!" from the npcs XD

RE: Creative, Lore-Appropriate (Non)Profanity - Desmond Aryll - 08-22-2013

Does your character have any particular accents? Might help to give the dialogue (and cursing) some color.

How about older curse words that are outdated? Such as arse instead of- you know.

Worse comes to worse, make em up. I say Frak all the time now.

RE: Lore-Appropriate (Non)Profanity - Cato - 08-22-2013