Hydaelyn Role-Players
Lalafell Lore - Printable Version

+- Hydaelyn Role-Players (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18)
+-- Forum: Community (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18/forumdisplay.php?fid=8)
+--- Forum: RP Discussion (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18/forumdisplay.php?fid=13)
+--- Thread: Lalafell Lore (/showthread.php?tid=6696)

Pages: 1 2

Lalafell Lore - Melodia - 03-20-2014

I am new to roleplaying in the game and play as a Lalafell. I am looking for good sources of lore for the Lalafell as I want to understand the race better within the world. I am not sure if anything had been posted before as a seach generated so many threads but none I could see that was directly related to this.

I just am trying to play the character better and feel like I am not fully understanding the race. I don't play Ruru as a cute or silly type and take him seriously. So any lore thoughts or sources would be greatly appreciated. Thank you. Smile

RE: Lalafell Lore - Sounsyy - 03-20-2014

I can link you a few of my favorite lore sources when I get off work! Until then I'll recount some things I remember offhand.

-Lalafells migrated to Eorzea from the islands south of the Ceildaeles.
-It is believed many lalafells have green or other nature-colored hair as camouflage from the race's natural predator, great avians called Rocs.
-Plainsfolk built their houses in small clusters that all interconnected via underground tunnels.
-Plainsfolk are traditionally farmers.
-Dunesfolk have a keen knack for bartering, so many become merchants.
-Dunesfolk used to be nomadic and built their houses on the backs of great beasts. What kind was never implied.
-Dunesfolk actually have pupils like the Plainsfolk, but over many eons developed thick film lenses over their eyes to protect them from sand blowing into them.
-Lalafellin appear as children to the other races, making it very difficult to distinguish a lalafells true age.