Hydaelyn Role-Players
Starting tips for an RP noob. - Printable Version

+- Hydaelyn Role-Players (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18)
+-- Forum: RPC (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18/forumdisplay.php?fid=25)
+--- Forum: Welcome Desk (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18/forumdisplay.php?fid=10)
+--- Thread: Starting tips for an RP noob. (/showthread.php?tid=6878)

Pages: 1 2

Starting tips for an RP noob. - Ritual - 04-08-2014

I have never tried RPing before and I will be getting FFXIV: ARR on the 14th when it is released for the PS4, I already have a character with a simple back-story made up along with a motivation for why they do what they do, however because of my complete lack of RPing in any way or form, I don't know where to go from there. XD.

How would I integrate myself into a RP group?

How does one progress their characters storyline?

When is it acceptable to become OOC?

How powerful is too powerful? (Even though my characters aren't really all that powerful anyway.) 

Can I use my character for OOC stuff with my friends that have no interest in RP?

These are the questions I'm mostly thinking of right now I'm sure many more will pop up seeing as I think too much (ISTP), but I'll only post these to get me started.

RE: Starting tips for an RP noob. - Elyscia - 04-08-2014

Hi! Smile

I only started RP'ing (never had RP'ed before in my life) five months ago, I'll share what I know from noob-to-noob and the things I've picked-up on, hehe.

By RP group do you mean a posse of RP'ers who are involved with your storyline? Get a group of friends, browse people's profiles who interest you (here!! http://www.ffxiv-roleplayers.com/wiki/ ) and message them asking if there's anything you could work out - most I've found are looking for childhood friends, family members, stuff like that and they're usually very friendly and nice about it! Or join a Free Company (Guild.)