The RP Healer Manifesto, slightly cross-posted from Tumblr

Nevivi Nevi

I posted a version of this to Tumblr and fully expected to catch flack for it...and haven't. In fact I have received a really saddening number of tags/reblogs from people who have, unfortunately, been completely driven away from playing their characters due to other healers' bad behavior. So I figured, heck, let's put it here as well in a more RP-centric hub. Plus some refinement since I've had more time to sleep on it and flesh out some thoughts better than a single Tumblr post generally allows for. I jotted it down rather quickly and I think on my phone in the bathroom, which isn't really the most...eloquent way to do anything...look, I never said I was a paragon of good habits.

So I've been playing Nevivi as a conjurer and chirurgeon for a couple of years now, and she used to be my main, but after actually experiencing how healers treat other healers in RP I got a foul taste in my mouth over it and haven't gone back to it. And I am not even remotely the only one to have experienced this. Healers in general are so hellbent on being THE HERO OF THE SCENE that they'll scene-crash, god-mod over other writers' boundaries and autonomy, push other healers out of the way, and generally trample each other into the dirt to get to the spotlight and claim it. It's pretty gross behavior, and it wouldn't be tolerated from any other role, so why is it this prevalent and generally accepted for healer characters? It shouldn't be.

So here. The ten commandments of RPing a healer without being a jerk to other healers. I follow these. I hope you’ll consider doing the same.

1. Injured characters are not stepping stones to making a scene all about you, unless it really is already your scene. Leave the spotlight where you found it.