Hydaelyn Role-Players
Post your Macros! - Printable Version

+- Hydaelyn Role-Players (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18)
+-- Forum: Final Fantasy 14 (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18/forumdisplay.php?fid=41)
+--- Forum: FFXIV Discussion (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18/forumdisplay.php?fid=12)
+--- Thread: Post your Macros! (/showthread.php?tid=11471)

Pages: 1 2 3


RE: Post your Macros! - Unnamed Mercenary - 05-07-2015

(05-07-2015, 04:21 PM)Temariah Wrote:
(05-07-2015, 03:05 PM)Gegenji Wrote:
(05-07-2015, 02:22 PM)Temariah Wrote: -snip-

I think the implication is that it is good for people using macros with text like how both of you presented it - with the text AFTER the action and not before. That way, the text won't appear until the action completes successfully, avoiding a wall of text if you're mashing that Swiftcast/Rez macro to get it off as soon as it's off cooldown.

But that's not true. In my macro, with the text coming after the command, it still displays the text regardless of whether my action goes off or not.

In a recent dungeon, I was being glomped by particularly friendly mobs and tried to sleep them. In my haste, I did double tap my Repose macro within about a half-second, and despite Repose only triggering once, my alert text happened twice.

Would putting in a /wait before the text remove this issue?

Hmm... will be testing a bit when I get in game.

As a test, change /party to /echo or something.

Now, use the cooldown ability without the macro, or just get it going and advnace your chat log.

Just as the ability is about to be available again (say.....5 seconds until read) mash that macro key as fast and hard as you can, as if your life depends on it. Like "OH SHIT I'M DYING AND REALLY NEED THIS HALLOWED GROUND TO GO OFF OR I'M DEAD!!!!!1!!1ONE" fast.

Lemme know which one spams your text box more. Filler text before or after.

Edit (because it might help):

This method of play isn't to be "considerate" or "accurate". It's mashing buttons like you're trying to kill your contorller/keyboard.

It's not a "oh, perhaps my skill is ready!" *presses button once* "No? OK, maybe now!" *presses button again, gently* "Hmm....oh! I see! It needs another half second. OK! /Now/ it's ready~!" *presses button*

I'll uh...save us from the word vomit I'd use if I typed out what I'm screaming while dying, trying to pop all my cooldowns to survive. (Only to watch Franz die on the screen)


RE: Post your Macros! - Temmi - 05-07-2015

The mental images of all kinds of crazy party messages and ascii macros flying around as your big Highlander dies just really amuses me.

Thanks for that. xD

I'll test with the echo when I can get online.

As an aside, is there a way to make it so that you only call out a party alert if the skill goes out?


RE: Post your Macros! - Unnamed Mercenary - 05-08-2015

(05-07-2015, 10:13 PM)Temariah Wrote: The mental images of all kinds of crazy party messages and ascii macros flying around as your big Highlander dies just really amuses me.

Thanks for that. xD

I'll test with the echo when I can get online.

As an aside, is there a way to make it so that you only call out a party alert if the skill goes out?

I wish there was a way to do conditional macros. You have no idea. ...but that'd be more like programming than making a macro, which could present an "unfair advantage" to players who macro.

But if we could make something like

if ( [skill].ready ){
/ac skill <target>
/p "skill used!"
}
else if ( [skill].cooldown < 5 ) { //assuming 5 seconds
/e Your skill's almost ready. It has skill.cooldown seconds left
else /e [skill] has a long cooldown left

I would be ecstatic. But this would require the macro system to be be much more complex than needed.

Lucky for at least my own mental health, I don't see a lot of the giant ascii macros being used in a spammy fashion. (I can only think of a couple times, and they were either limit breaks or wipe messages). ...It's only the sound effect "Just used provoke <se.1>" or "SKILLNAME Just Used It. <se.1>" style ones I'll see often. (Well, more like hear. I can always hide the chatbox if needed)


RE: Post your Macros! - allgivenover - 05-08-2015

At that point we are implementing a scripting language with object oriented capability. Bla bla ps3 limitations phrased as something that doesn't directly vilify the ps3.

Also we don't need that many lines. Just tell us exactly how much time is left on the cooldown.

if([skill].coolDown > 0){
     /e [skill] ready in [skill].coolDown seconds.

Oh.. if only. This is why I loved XII so much. It was basically scripting built into the battle system.


RE: Post your Macros! - Unnamed Mercenary - 05-08-2015

(05-08-2015, 10:38 AM)allgivenover Wrote: At that point we are implementing a scripting language with object oriented capability. Bla bla ps3 limitations phrased as something that doesn't directly vilify the ps3.

Also we don't need that many lines. Just tell us exactly how much time is left on the cooldown.

if([skill].coolDown > 0){
     /e [skill] ready in [skill].coolDown seconds.

Oh.. if only. This is why I loved XII so much. It was basically scripting built into the battle system.

I thought we have a command in this game to give the time left on a cooldown. Let me poke through commands. I'll edit/update if I find it. ...and yeah, it's be object-oriented-ish in my example. I'd say it'd work great client-side, but with latency aka squeenix lag, it'd probably miserably fail.

edit: this was fast.

/recast “action name” - Displays time remaining until the specified action can be used again.

So they've definitely got a system strong enough to look up the information. Evaluation and conditionals would probably stretch it though.


RE: Post your Macros! - allgivenover - 05-08-2015

(05-08-2015, 10:47 AM)Unnamed Mercenary Wrote:
(05-08-2015, 10:38 AM)allgivenover Wrote: At that point we are implementing a scripting language with object oriented capability. Bla bla ps3 limitations phrased as something that doesn't directly vilify the ps3.

Also we don't need that many lines. Just tell us exactly how much time is left on the cooldown.

if([skill].coolDown > 0){
     /e [skill] ready in [skill].coolDown seconds.

Oh.. if only. This is why I loved XII so much. It was basically scripting built into the battle system.

I thought we have a command in this game to give the time left on a cooldown. Let me poke through commands. I'll edit/update if I find it. ...and yeah, it's be object-oriented-ish in my example. I'd say it'd work great client-side, but with latency aka squeenix lag, it'd probably miserably fail.

Considering the by design positional update lag is so the PS3 can even run this game, at least I think so,  yeah it couldn't handle this properly.


RE: Post your Macros! - Unnamed Mercenary - 05-08-2015

(05-08-2015, 10:52 AM)allgivenover Wrote:
(05-08-2015, 10:47 AM)Unnamed Mercenary Wrote:
(05-08-2015, 10:38 AM)allgivenover Wrote: At that point we are implementing a scripting language with object oriented capability. Bla bla ps3 limitations phrased as something that doesn't directly vilify the ps3.

Also we don't need that many lines. Just tell us exactly how much time is left on the cooldown.

if([skill].coolDown > 0){
     /e [skill] ready in [skill].coolDown seconds.

Oh.. if only. This is why I loved XII so much. It was basically scripting built into the battle system.

I thought we have a command in this game to give the time left on a cooldown. Let me poke through commands. I'll edit/update if I find it. ...and yeah, it's be object-oriented-ish in my example. I'd say it'd work great client-side, but with latency aka squeenix lag, it'd probably miserably fail.

Considering the by design positional update lag is so the PS3 can even run this game, at least I think so,  yeah it couldn't handle this properly.

The crappy positioning is likely to reduce server-side laod/bandwidth in my opinion. ...much lighter on a server if it doesn't need constant connections. ...the issue of course, is that if there's a network hiccup or if the server gets overloaded.....well, we see it often. Sending 0 and Receiving 0.