Hydaelyn Role-Players
The Psychology of the Tanks - Printable Version

+- Hydaelyn Role-Players (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18)
+-- Forum: Off-Topic (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18/forumdisplay.php?fid=42)
+--- Forum: Off-Topic Discussion (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18/forumdisplay.php?fid=14)
+--- Thread: The Psychology of the Tanks (/showthread.php?tid=13609)

The Psychology of the Tanks - Erik Mynhier - 09-27-2015

So let me start by saying I am by no means an expert in Psychology. I am college educated and can grasp basic psychological concepts but am not an expert by any sense of the word....

Ok with the disclaimer out of the way, I noticed something about the tanks as I finished 2 of their quests and am working down the third. I noticed that the driving principles of each seems at least to me to correspond to one of Sigmund Freud's three parts of the human psyche, the Id, Ego, and Super-Ego.

The primal Id fits a bit to the Warrior, letting your "Inner Beast" run free. The Ego is the Dark Knight, acting as a go between between the Id and reality, raging but for the right reasons or the reasons that best fit. And finally the Super-Ego and the Paladin, focusing on Willpower and a very high unrealistic code of ethics and actions.

As I said I'm no expert and may have this all wrong. I was hopeful to get some Psych students to either point out how I'm wrong or if I am on to something sort of flush it out and explain it to me.

RE: The Psychology of the Tanks - Verad - 09-27-2015

Step one is that Freud is outdated in the field of psychology. That said, his theories are still used for examining literary concepts, though even those have fallen out of favor in academic circles 

That said, the pattern recognition works, but it's a pattern with a limited connection to any sort of truth

RE: The Psychology of the Tanks - Teadrinker - 09-27-2015