Hydaelyn Role-Players
Characters dreams of evolution though class - Printable Version

+- Hydaelyn Role-Players (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18)
+-- Forum: Community (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18/forumdisplay.php?fid=8)
+--- Forum: RP Discussion (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18/forumdisplay.php?fid=13)
+--- Thread: Characters dreams of evolution though class (/showthread.php?tid=5296)

Characters dreams of evolution though class - Leomoon - 10-28-2013

So I am new to XIV, the Lore and well am general noob to it all but I ave done time in WoW and Rp'd for over a few years and I would like to ask this.

My main Tana wishes to be a Dragoon knight one day after seeing one many years ago in her village, so she sets out on a quest to pretty much be rich and famous in her quest and adventure but how should this play out though the game?

How should a character handle from being a level 30 Lance to a Level 1 Marauder?

RE: Characters dreams of evolution though class - Sil'tel Ferima - 10-28-2013

Part of being great at one thing is having knowledge and experience of things that may be seperate but related. A Gladiator needs to know when a Dragoon can unleash their best attacks, and how efficiently a Conjurer can heal them. It's neither blasphemy or dishonorable to pursue different styles of warfare to enhance your experience with another.

And don't forget, supplimentary abilities require first-hand experience to be gained. You can't pull off something a Puglist can do without first learning it as a Pugilist.

RE: Characters dreams of evolution though class - K'dath - 10-28-2013

Segregation of game mechanics and story. Your character still has all the same approximate knowledge, skill, and experience. You can address using a different weapon ICly as having a desire/need to branch out and try other forms of combat in order to gain mastery. Or you can chose not to address that you're leveling another class ICly at all.