Hydaelyn Role-Players
Old Roleplayer New to FFXIV - Printable Version

+- Hydaelyn Role-Players (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18)
+-- Forum: RPC (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18/forumdisplay.php?fid=25)
+--- Forum: Welcome Desk (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18/forumdisplay.php?fid=10)
+--- Thread: Old Roleplayer New to FFXIV (/showthread.php?tid=7747)

Old Roleplayer New to FFXIV - Argent Wren - 07-22-2014

Hey everyone!

I'm a long-time roleplayer who spent a couple years on NWN & MUSHs (if people even remember either of those), but it's been 2-3 years now and I'm new to roleplaying on MMOs and new to FFXIV in general. What I've seen of this community, though, looks really exciting and since my work has started easing up on me I decided it's a good time to get involved.

I think I've spent the last couple days trying to figure out how the game works and what the general lore is (my DnD knowledge isn't helping me much here). I've started to get a handle on it, but there's a lot, so it's a bit overwhelming.

I'm in the medium-heavy range on roleplay, but really looking to join the community in any way possible and turn my time here into as much of a social experience as it is a gaming one. I managed to get a character made on Balmung, after a late night session. I'm not entirely certain how linkshells vs Free Companies work yet, or where the best places to meet people are, but if anyone has suggestions on how to get involved and where to go I'd appreciate the pointers.

Since I'm following the template, I'm currently a physician in training, specializing in critical care medicine. Prior to that, I worked as a biomedical engineer. For hobbies, I host a writing group for aspiring authors when I'm not working, roleplaying, or sleeping.

I'll try for a wiki page soon, but for my character: