Hydaelyn Role-Players
Racial slurs? - Printable Version

+- Hydaelyn Role-Players (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18)
+-- Forum: Community (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18/forumdisplay.php?fid=8)
+--- Forum: RP Discussion (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18/forumdisplay.php?fid=13)
+--- Thread: Racial slurs? (/showthread.php?tid=10949)

Pages: 1 2 3

Racial slurs? - Meishali - 04-04-2015

Hello, I'm Meishali, and welcome to "make politically incorrect threads TODAY".

I tried to look a bit into this but I didn't find much information + I am still new to the game so I am trying to avoid spoilers... So wiki research is a bit risky for me atm in general. 
I've done some people watching today and yesterday and I've seen several little comments on racial features (miqo'te ears, hyur's height compared to a lalafell's etc.). Some were taken as "cute titles" or gentle remarks, other were, in context, meant to be insults. 

Are there any in-lore known slurs? By that I mean... Like, actual quest givers of y race referring to x race in a rude/good manner using something other than the clan name or the race name. 

What is considered rude? What's not? Does it just depends on the characters way to take it? Maybe they don't really exist and what I read yesterday & today was a mirage?

Also, how often do races mix to do kids? What is usually the offspring like?

Enlighten me, veterans!

RE: Racial slurs? - Bryn - 04-04-2015

The Midlanders insult the Highlanders by saying that their mothers were Sea Wolves.

RE: Racial slurs? - Domri Blackblade - 04-04-2015

- Wildwoods are called "greens" by the Duskwights.
- Duskwights are called "greys", "duskies", or "dusties".
- Keepers are called "poachers" and "savages" (Ty, Knight Kat).
- Miqo'te are called "cats".
- Midlanders say to Highlanders things along the lines of, "Your mother is a roegadyn."
- Elezen are "knife-ears."

Some I know. Watch for edits as more pop up.

EDIT:

Beastmen: