Hydaelyn Role-Players
Yo! - Printable Version

+- Hydaelyn Role-Players (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18)
+-- Forum: RPC (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18/forumdisplay.php?fid=25)
+--- Forum: Welcome Desk (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18/forumdisplay.php?fid=10)
+--- Thread: Yo! (/showthread.php?tid=11965)

Yo! - mykepwnage - 06-08-2015

Hello!  I'm very new to the game (just started playing last week) and was able to roll up a char on Balmung this morning, which my research told me is the unofficial RP server!  I'm not new RP by any means though: started with AD&D 2nd ed, and have played all editions cept 5e, joined and ran a couple of RP ezBoards, even played a fair bit of WoW, currently playing a few games of PbP D&D at Myth Weavers.

There, with obligatory introduction over, I've got a couple of questions Smile

1.  I didn't see anything in the forum rules (written or unwritten) about your forum account being IC or not.  I'm hoping that's not the case, as I've always had a serious case of altitis and would feel weird if I joined any RP here as my current main.

2.  Could you share any links towards some of the world lore, both canon from SE and also generally accepted/established lore that has been created by the RP community?  It's hard to fully flesh out my character ideas when I know so little about the world...

I'm making my way through http://ffxiv.gamepedia.com/Lore, and when I'm done it I'll look for more, but would prefer to get to the 'recommended' reading ASAP.

3.  I love me some RP-PvP.  It was hard to find dedicated RP-PvP guilds in WoW, and I'm suspecting it might be even harder here?  I don't just mean FCs that RP and also do PVP, but like, FCs that exist/pursue the PvP, for their IC purpose (looks like there's an arena/fun/sport mode, so no hard feelings - but then frontlines, serving the GCs?)