Hydaelyn Role-Players
Hey! Can't decide what race! Opinions?! - Printable Version

+- Hydaelyn Role-Players (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18)
+-- Forum: RPC (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18/forumdisplay.php?fid=25)
+--- Forum: Welcome Desk (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18/forumdisplay.php?fid=10)
+--- Thread: Hey! Can't decide what race! Opinions?! (/showthread.php?tid=15071)

Hey! Can't decide what race! Opinions?! - Abrielle - 01-27-2016

Hey Everyone!

I am new to the FF role playing community, but in no way new to roleplaying!

I've role played on-line for a minimum of 16 years now and am always looking for my next adventure!

That being said I am having serious issues with my racial choice. I like the Elezen but am also debating on a shorter race like Hyur. As much as I like Au Ra and Miqote I wonder if they are just too many?

Whatever I play their back story will be rooted into the Elezen due to my choice of name. Abrielle Mignonette. I'd love to hear peoples opinions on racial choices!

RE: Hey! Can't decide what race! Opinions?! - Unnamed Mercenary - 01-27-2016

Hi there! At least based on the name, I would assume the character to be Hyuran or Elezen based off of naming conventions.

Gonna snipe the posts from another user (Sounsyy), but here's a mini compilation of some good beginning lore starter posts.

Beginner's Lore Guide
-Race Lore Compilation: Origins, Interbreeding, and History
-Hydaelyn Geography and Place Lore
-Eorzean Units of Time and Measurement Lore
-Political Structure of the City-states

Do you have any other ideas for your character? Like what skills they might have or a personal history?

RE: Hey! Can't decide what race! Opinions?! - Martiallais - 01-27-2016

Heya and welcome!

If you're wanting to choose your race based on population trends, you'd probably want to lean towards Elezen as there are quite a few Miqo'te around and Au Ra, while not necessarily as populous as they used to be are still around in good number.