Hydaelyn Role-Players
Hi FF XIV RP! First time RP'er here... - Printable Version

+- Hydaelyn Role-Players (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18)
+-- Forum: RPC (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18/forumdisplay.php?fid=25)
+--- Forum: Welcome Desk (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18/forumdisplay.php?fid=10)
+--- Thread: Hi FF XIV RP! First time RP'er here... (/showthread.php?tid=16702)

Hi FF XIV RP! First time RP'er here... - Aera Espoir - 07-11-2016

Hello everyone,

I'm new to Roleplaying in general, let alone inside a MMORPG like Final Fantasy XIV. I created this account with my character's name to RP in the game, but am currently singing the woes of getting into Balmung. The server is always closed for new characters, and I cannot quite afford a server transfer at the moment...

But that being said, I've been reading the stickies on the RP forums here, and I think I'm ready to take the dive and introduce myself!

I don't know if this has been done before--but I'm sort of using RP as a means to grow as a writer, as I seem to struggle with character dialogue and truly understanding what it means to write a believable, flawed, interesting character. The character Aera is the protagonist of a story I've been writing. Her presence in Eorzea, if anything, is sort of a "What-if" scenario.

So basically, the multiverse theory. And all that timey-wimey...stuff. I've been conjuring a backstory based off the game's lore that probably won't be ever told in an actual RP session, but it's good to establish just in case you get asked IC, "Where are you from?"

But this little introduction isn't so little anymore. I'm glad to be here, and as a first-timer I need all the advice and tips I can get! Also, it may be awhile until I can transfer to Balmung/Gilgamesh, so if there are any good RP communities here that are located on other servers, I wouldn't mind situating myself there before making the jump.

Thanks, everyone! Here's to fun times ahead! Smile