Hydaelyn Role-Players
Newbie here! - Printable Version

+- Hydaelyn Role-Players (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18)
+-- Forum: RPC (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18/forumdisplay.php?fid=25)
+--- Forum: Welcome Desk (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18/forumdisplay.php?fid=10)
+--- Thread: Newbie here! (/showthread.php?tid=18158)

Newbie here! - 9aia - 01-10-2017

Uh hiya! Not super new to FFXIV but finally decided on trying out Balmung! After RPing for years on IMs and WoW's WRA I decided to give Balmung a shot. I might have a lalafell friend join me here to make things a little less lonely in the beginning, heh.

But uh yeah! Icon's my character here. Yup, I doodled it. Duskwight. Somewhat of a delicate little thing. Fairly a WIP until I can absorb more of the lore to be comfortable. 

I'm super used to WoW's MRP system so how can you get a glance at characters? What other little things are there to know to properly/comfortably rp here in ffxiv?

RE: Newbie here! - Syranelle Ironleaf - 01-10-2017

Hey there and welcome to Balmung!

The best place to start is with the Balmung RP Calendar and finding a few events that angle toward the kind of RP you're interested in.  Then you can start looking at other character profiles once you've found a few characters or personalities you'd like to meet.  While you're window shopping, be sure to check out the Free Company Hall or the Linkshell Hall to find Free Companies and public groups that may suit your character.

For lore questions, be sure to check out Sounsyy's Lore Compilations; she's done an amazing job with compiling a lot of the game lore into easy-to-find threads!

You're welcome to add me to your friends list; I'm a fairly busy person, both in-game and out, but I'm always happy to schedule/arrange a day to roleplay with folks!  You're also welcome to come out to my Free Company's open roleplay evening Nights on the Toll, which happens every Thursday that I'm not hosting the Gridania Story-Go-Round.