Hydaelyn Role-Players
newbie with some Q's - Printable Version

+- Hydaelyn Role-Players (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18)
+-- Forum: RPC (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18/forumdisplay.php?fid=25)
+--- Forum: Welcome Desk (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18/forumdisplay.php?fid=10)
+--- Thread: newbie with some Q's (/showthread.php?tid=21222)

newbie with some Q's - cailee - 01-09-2018

Hello!

I'm new to FFXIV and the FF universe (been playing about 2 months), but an experienced MMO playeras well as a long-time table-top RPG’er.  I haveabout 4 or 5 characters that recur in the various RPGs/MMOs that I play. Never done any FF before, but I’m loving the story so far (it's so good!) 

So here’s my current situation: I’ve been playing onBrynhildr and reached end-game.  I joineda small, very helpful FC that has been great, but they focus on meta-gaming and raid progression.  I'm much more casual and now that I’ve hitend-game, I have a lot of time in-game that I would like to RP, but there’s just not a lot of people interested in RP’ing. 
(To top it off, I’ve been getting some unwanted attention from anotherplayer, but that’s a different issue.)  Ifound this site via a google search that landed me on the RP handbook (which I read).

I had planned to wait and lurk a bit more before actually doing anything, but I saw that Mateo may be closing soon, so I'm thinking I should dosomething sooner rather than later.

With that in mind, I have a few questions:

1. Do people typically create new characters or is it ok to move a level 70 character over from another server?  I’m very attached to my current char, but I suppose I could clone her on a RP server and re-level? 

2. Speaking of leveling – do people play the game and advance or generally just RP level 1 chars? (I’ve played in both types of environments.)

3. Assuming people do follow the story, how do you handle the “everyone is the Warrior of Light” issue?