(Backstory building) Raen, new to Balmung!

First of all I suppose I should list a few credentials; I'm an avid roleplayer with somewhere around 10 years experience, give or take a couple as it's all very fuzzy to me. I'm new to FFXIV 3.0, originally having played during 1.0 for about a month-and-a-half before giving up, looking to once again return now that everything looks a lot cleaner and bigger.

As for the backstory;

My character is a young female Raen from a diminishing noble family that fell upon hard times. The Garlean occupation of her homeland didn't help her family too much, either- Whilst they were allowed to keep their holdings, they were taxed more, and their already diminishing fortunes and prestige fell upon harder times when the other Au'Ra saw how much her family bent knee to the Garlean overlords.

The young Raen herself was the daughter of the head of the noble family, but she was either a bastard child, or adopted- She never really dared to ask, and her family was already too busy constantly belittling the little Raen girl and telling her that she was the reason the family was continuously falling upon hard times. Finding solace in the friends she occasionally made during school, she'd find that eventually, nobody wanted to be her friend anymore- Apparently her family didn't want her to mingle with 'full-blooded nobles', and so they told the other noble families that their children were not allowed to interact with the little Raen girl. 

Eventually, however, as with all things, the relatively peaceful, albeit lonely life of the young Raen girl came to an end. Her family was no longer looked upon favourably by the Garleans, and it wasn't too long before a Garlean squad showed up at the family manor's doorsteps.

She herself hid herself in a small, cramped cupboard, with the doors open just enough to allow her to witness the slaughtering of all of her family who stood before the Garleans.