New to RP on FFXIV, just a few questions. :)

Hi, I'm just now starting to get into the idea of RPing on FFXIV. I've been playing the game for a few months now, and I've been enjoying it. I've tried learning all the lore as I go so I could have a bit of an idea as to what myself and others are talking about if I stepped into the roleplay scene. I've been RPing on other games like Elder Scrolls and Star Wars in the past, so I have quite a bit of experience (though I haven't really RP'd much in recent times). I just had a few questions, sorry if they seem dumb.

First, I was wondering where I could look for RP on the Aether datacenter? My main server is Jenova but I don't mind world visiting at all!

Second, I was curious as to the lore behind the two jobs I was caught between (my character is a Viera, FYI). On one hand, I wanted to RP a Ninja, and on the other I wanted to RP a Red Mage. I plan to form personality and backstory around whichever job I chose so I was just wondering if anyone else had any advice, opinions, or knowledge that I do not have?

Finally, I know some of the 'golden rules' of RP like don't be a jerk, etc. But I was wondering if the Final Fantasy community had any particular rules for their roleplaying experience as well? Sorry if some of these questions seem really noobish or dumb, or if this is the wrong place to post this, but I've always enjoyed the FF games growing up and the idea of RPing in one of them just sounds super fun. Thanks in advance for any help you can give! 😊

Welcome!

Unfortunately, I am on the Crystal data-server, so I'm no help when it comes to rp locals on others. 

I don't play a Viera, so I haven't researched myself much, but here's a few links that may be a good starting point (they may very well be very similar in text; I skimmed mostly). Here, here, and here! (this last one being some in-game screenshots of an NPC explaining some 'facts'.