Is there any such thing as "too much" when it comes to a back story?

I was pondering this in respect to an MMORPG. I'm relatively new to RP in an MMORPG and it's quite different to me in that the story and game world can in many ways shape your character (Much more so because of the amount of people playing as well as the game storyline.) and i wonder how much wiggle room for that people will leave in the whole back story. Some back stories could be a novel in themselves with lots of experiences that make a character stuck in their ways. How well does that work in an MMORPG compared to a more blank slate character that say you know where they came from and their upbringing and the events that bought them into the game world but they have not really become anything in particular yet. 

So how do you normally approach characters in MMORPG? Do you prefer a deep storyline and a "this is who they are" approach or do you shape some of your characters personality by how they experience the world and their interactions with other characters? Do you ever feel limited by your characters back story?

I only write about important events that would explain how they came to be in their current situation or anything that impacted their life in particular ways that affected their personality, mentality or behaviour. Anything normal or not really worthy of note can really just be saved for RP'ing with others. I mean sure, develop information about their interests, family and anything else that may be brought up in the future, but I wouldn't go into too much detail about anything that didn't serve of at least relative importance to your character.