Hydaelyn Role-Players
New to FFXIV, not new to... anything else - Printable Version

+- Hydaelyn Role-Players (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18)
+-- Forum: RPC (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18/forumdisplay.php?fid=25)
+--- Forum: Welcome Desk (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18/forumdisplay.php?fid=10)
+--- Thread: New to FFXIV, not new to... anything else (/showthread.php?tid=15570)

New to FFXIV, not new to... anything else - Kilieit - 03-17-2016

Sorry this is so long!

--MMORPG background

I've been playing WoW for ten years, and was (am? we didn't disband, just...) a guild leader for the more recent chunk of that. But a combination of lack of new quests to play through and all of my guild members except two moving to FFXIV lead to them buying me the game as a gift this winter gone, and me giving in and switching. I'll probably still go back to WoW when Legion drops, but how long for depends how established I get myself in FFXIV, really.

--RP experience

I grew up roleplaying. Both my parents are roleplayers (tabletop - if you're familiar with the UK scene, you might know us...), so I can't really remember any time when I enjoyed a game without turning it into something of a roleplaying exercise.

I ran a popular RP guild in WoW for a couple of years. I used to run weekly events and all that stuff... except then my friends stopped logging in, and my chronic illness kicked my ass. I haven't done any public RP in an MMO in almost two years, tbh. I've been roleplaying privately with friends during the interim.

--Character ideas/info

I have eight Balmung alts at various stages of development.

Aghurlal, my Au Ra "fisherman", is the most polished of them & the one I have the most interest in RPing on a ~daily basis.