(Balmung) New to FF14's RP community

Like the title says, I'm new to the RP community here.  Have had some experience in other MMOs when it comes to RP (GW2, TERA, WoW), but am a bit lost as to where I should start in this game.  Been hanging around the Quicksand but haven't been able to get anything going.

So, any tips/tricks, or whatnot?

I'm rather new-ish to Balmung myself but instead of hanging around the Quicksand, I decided to just poke Guild Officers in guilds I was interested in and got into a lot of RP that way. I've never even RPed in the Quicksand. :)

Might be helpful to mention in which timezone you are. There's people from all over the world on Balmung.

Let us know about your character! I've found some amazing people through this forum. If you put up some info on your character, it lets people start to formulate ideas on how their character(s) could meet yours and interact, and there's a good chance of them either contacting you in-game or giving you a name of their character with which to contact them.

That said, welcome to the game! Feel free to message me sometime is you'd like :) I spend most of my time on Cam'nahl Zarasten, my shy miqo'te scholar and healer. If not him, I'm likely on one of the other two mentioned in my signature.