New FFXIV Rper! And I have a question!

Howdy, you wonderful people!

I've been playing FFXIV for a while now, albeit on and off due to life and work being as busy as it is. I sadly have a habit of not playing for months on end, only to appear for my vacations and play non-stop for a week or two. I joined an RP group in Coeurl full of wonderful, really nice people but found the RP in the open world somewhat lacking, so I decided to transfer..

To give you all a little context.

I've been Roleplaying for well over fifteen years now, starting with a few sonic Forum RP's (The dark times, oh gods the dark times) and working my way up to Skype, and eventually Discord RP's set in various settings we would usually come up with. I've been playing DnD lately (Though found roleplay in a tabletop setting to be a LOT different than the text-based characters I am used to writing) And, of course, I only have a little bit of experience roleplaying on MMO's, that experience extending to a few weeks of FFXIV Rp and very light roleplay on GW2. I don't usually play a lot of MMO's but these two in particular hooked me.

Joining Courl, I set about making a character named Xeri'to, my Miqo'te with little to no magic or combat skill, whom spends most of his time traveling to Ul'dah to get his Ceruleum and taking apart any magitek he can get his hands on to try and learn, by no means a 'great engineer' but he tries to make do to make up for his lack of skill and reflexes.

Now I've been searching around for a server to transfer to and found Mateus and Balmung to be the primary RP servers in FFXIV, I visited them both and was immediately surprised how many people hung around the quicksand! I felt a bit spoiled for choice, and can't decide which server to join. I'm european of course but tend to hang around the american servers since they're just more popular.

Now, my questions to all of you are as follows;