Requesting help with character concepts

Jonexe

I'm new to role playing in FFXIV, and I have a question... or maybe multiple questions... anyway. For those who didn't see my introduction at the welcome desk; I'm new to your community, and hope to be be a part of it. I've role played for a long time, in many forms... but I'm new to this one.

Since I'm led to understand that Phase 4 Beta characters not only last over into the retail release, but that you get to recustomize your existing character; I've decided to come up with an actual concept for him. I figured this would likely be a lot easier to get into than trying to force something into a character whose aesthetics were designed with "This looks good enough for my free month" in mind. This character I'd be changing is only a level 24 CNJ, and... 11? THM... so lots of room for growth.

Here's my issue though! I can't decide on a concept. I like to pick a race (especially in a lore rich environment like FFXIV) first and foremost, so that I can incorporate that into their identity. I'm kind of stuck between a Highlander Hyur and a Keeper of the Moon Miqo'te. I've got some basic concepts in mind for both, and some things I both like and dislike. Aesthetics are also important to me, so I'll talk about those too. I figured I'd present them to all of you for some feedback to help me make my decision.

To start us off, here's a bit of background into why my concepts are the way they are:

• My primary classes (and thus the classes incorporated into the character's identity) will likely be Paladin, White Mage, and Bard. Scholar might come in too at some point in the future. Any other class will purely be OOC fun.
  • Heavy armor looks beautiful on the both.
  • Casting armor doesn't look nearly as good on Hyur (especially Highlanders).
  • I'm not sure what's overdone, or not overdone, in your community.
  • I'm not sure if my concepts even really fit the lore, and thus I'd like to avoid looking foolish.

Concept 1: