Languages?

I have a quick question about languages in the realm of Eorzea. Bear in mind that I never set finger on 1.0, and I only started playing XIV as early as the start of Phase 3. I have very little in the way of exposure, so I apologize if this is a really stupid or obvious question:

Are there other spoken/written languages in Eorzea other than the presumed common tongue?

I wanted to know because I may or may not have succumb entirely to my terrible predisposition towards altitis, and am potentially considering introducing one of my alts from FFXI in to the FFXIV universe, with a very similar story to her FFXI incarnation. One of the things that I liked about this character was the fact that she spoke with an accent due to her (intensely isolated) tribe speaking another tongue.

I suspect I'm probably not out of bounds to roll with the idea anyway, especially if the tribe is really very isolated, but I wanted to poke around and see if there are any references to other languages being spoken in the game's environment.

We actually had a thread similar to this about racial languages not too long ago. :) In that thread, we all dug up some lore that basically says that, yes, there were certainly roegadyn and likely miqo'te racial languages long ago, but they're long since dead and really live on only in names. All "normal" Eorzeans speak, well, Eorzean. :) That said, you could, in theory, have a character from a "long lost tribe" of miqo'te or roegadyn that's only recently started picking up modern Eorzean, I suppose.

Now, for other languages? The heavy accenting on the beastmen when they speak and the implication in the cutscenes that others can't exactly grasp what they're saying strongly implies to me, at least, that they have their own languages or did until relatively recently, though they many seem to be able to speak Eorzean as well.

Aha, that was a very interesting read. Thanks for the reference.