Lurker Finally Saying Hello.

So .. yeah. I've been a lurker on these forums for a long time (minus a post or two); partly because I'm shy, and because I haven't been part of the RP world for a long time. But with Early Access/official launch right around the corner, I figure it's now or never to introduce myself.

*waves* Hello, RPC! I love what you've done with the place.

I've been role-playing for about fifteen years. I got my start in Ultima Online and have since RP'd in a long list of MMOs (and sometimes forums, IM clients, etc). Table-top gaming has rarely been an option for me, unfortunately.

It's been a while since I've really dug into a MMO's lore and entrenched myself in a character. World of Warcraft was the last game I was truly devoted to in an RP sense. I was an officer in a heavy RP guild. I wrote stories and posted on forums all the time. The works. I've had smatterings of RP here and there in other MMOs since then, but nothing too involved or prolonged.

I hope to return to that kind of devotion in XIV, which is a surprise. I never thought this game would amount to anything more than a black spot on the Final Fantasy legacy (absolutely no offense intended for anyone who genuinely enjoyed 1.0). But I feel something when I log into my character that I haven't felt in the other MMOs I've sampled recently. And I want to chase that feeling.

Alrighty, rambling over. I look forward to making some friends here. =)

Heya lurkerperson!

I doubt anyone will blame you for not having faith in 1.0, most who stuck around did it for the people and not the game. ^^;

That said, ARR has been pushing those bad memories away and giving me renewed hope and incentive to play and redevelop my old characters as well as create new ones!

Welcome into the fold. :)