Value (OOC welcome!)

(( Hello! This is my first attempt at writing a story for a character in a very, very long time, so I would love to hear thoughts and comments on it! Thank you for the time! ))

---

The desert winds were particularly unforgiving today. Hot gusts of air lashed the windswept figure, robed and hooded in black as he continued his steady trek down the worn path. Fenix kept his hand on his head to ensure the winds didn't blow his hood off, head bowed and eyes cast at the road to protect them from the stinging wind. The great city of Ul'dah loomed in the distance, completely dwarfing the man as he made his approach. His free hand rose and grasped the strap of his nondescript brown pack, shoulder shifting to readjust the heavy load. 

As he came to the Gate of Nald, he paused a moment and turned his gaze upward. Home. It was nothing less to him now, even if he had only been here for less than a year. He knew its streets as well as any, and he was oftentimes a familiar site wandering the streets. Turning his gaze straight forward, he continued on his way and passed through the gates. No time to waste on sentimentality, he had business to take care of.

---