JJ Musics!

Will you get a harmonica now?  

1 member has voted

1. 1. Will you get a harmonica now?

• Yes
    • No
    • Tell me more!

Ask for requests! I'll try to learn!

So I've been playing the harmonica for a number of years, I think close to six? It's only been in the last two years since I graduated college and got a job with excess cash/time that I've been able to sink a lot of gil monies into it. Most of these up to "The Place I'll Return to Someday" (FFIX theme) are probably over a year old.. I've been lazy in recording for one reason or another...

I've been most interested in Irish traditional music and have a number of tunes learned to heart (including a cleaner version of Selbina.. which is a Irish-style jig). I am interested in all genres on the harmonica.. it is a rather versatile instrument and particularly the keys of D and G are in the right range for fiddle tunes.

A lot of these were recorded with a crappy microphone in a loud trailer on a gas drilling rig, so audiophiles, just start crying now.

-JJ Musics Links-

(more shall be added as they are done)

FF Fanfare on three different harmonicas

First half of Irish Washerwoman (traditional Irish jig)

Highlander Freestyle

~JJ Harmonicas~

The harmonica gets a bad rap as being "just a toy" or "grandpas instrument", but I would argue it is the most expressive instrument behind the human voice as that it is directly connected to the tongue and mouth, and you use them to make expressions. Hell, I ask that you all go out and buy a 2-10 dollar harmonica. They ain't that good for the long haul, but it's pretty simple to learn to play tunes like the Godfather theme, some Beatles stuff and so on. One of my favorites is the main music from Tetris (some traditional Russian tune). Sounds great slow as well as at any freaking tempo. I like to start it off slow then speed it up through a couple of runs.