Hi!

Hey folks,

I'm super excited to join this community! I've been playing FFXIV for a few months on and off on Faerie but I just transferred over to Balmung since I saw there was more RP. I'm interested in making my character come to life in my gameplay and then I found this community by googling ffxiv and Roleplay. I was actually looking for an FC but fortunately found this lovely place. I'm a casual player and it's been literally years since I lasted RPed or played an MMORPG. Over the past few years, it was difficult to find time with real life commitments to work and people, but I've recently decided that stealing a few hours here or there to game in a fantastical world is necessary self-care. I'm a Canadian grad student in my late 20s.

I played Ragnarok Online for many years despite it's pixel issues mostly because of the community and memories. I've also played Guild Wars and TwelveSkies, but I usually solo-played for those two. I've always played DPS characters, but ffxiv character is a Paladin who is still learning the finer mechanisms of tanking, so far I'm ok with the light party dungeons but full parties are messing me up... I chose it mostly because I was watching Log Horizon at the time and really liked the Tank character. I also thought that tanking meant standing there and letting creatures hit me but it seems monsters have grown much more complex since Ragnarok days. NOPE.