I prefer 'wanderer' to 'homeless'

So I'm brand new to the game, most of my RP experience comes from more modern games such as Arma 3, but I do play a ton of the fantasy genre in a non-rp capacity. I'm looking to get involved with a group that is friendly to new players and those of us learning the ropes. My character should mesh well with a variety of groups as he is of fairly neutral alignment with no real connections; I'm open to the possibility of joining Linkshells and Free Companies as well. I would not mind taking part in some progression as well, currently lv29 Gladiator that will be going Dark Knight (aside from backstory reasons, I also enjoy tanking). Probably fall in the range of casual to moderate RP, though that may change as I get more comfortable.

I haven't fully written out a backstory yet but here is the tl;dr for those who may be interested:

Race: Au Ra

Pseudonym: Tasi Anemos

Birth Name: Shona Avagnar

Alignment: True Neutral

Personality: Lazy, a tired look always paints his face. He can be a bit gruff, but his speech is generally very laid back. He tends to huff and puff when asked to perform tasks he deems inconvenient. Despite having to occasionally resort to stealing as a means to survive, especially in his younger days, he has a generally kind heart and a soft spot for women. He is superficially annoyed by children, but the local youths always seem to enjoy goading and harassing him.