Exploring New Seas

I am looking for a new game. I am specifically looking for a new rp community. I am an rp novice, with a lot of questions;

((tl;dr - I am unsure whether MMO RP is right for me. I crave stories to be wrapped up in, and I've had nothing but frustrations ))

First, My Experience;

-Was in an RP guild in Perfect World International for about 1 week. I found it difficult to break into the group, as they had been together for awhile, had all these developed relationships and past stories they shared, and very little 'outreach' towards new recruits, and bringing them up to speed. Plus, it was my very first attempt at rping, so I was a little bewildered and lost. Ultimately, however, I left b/c I did not care for the game.

-Have RP'd in Tera: Rising for about 3 months. My practice as a writer has really come into play as far as building characters, and having some dynamic scenes. However, I have run into several problems which have led to my searching for a new community & game.

The Questions;

- I tend to play hero types. In a game (Tera) rife with mercs and villains, it was difficult to find a home. What is the likelihood of finding hero-themed linkshells in FFXIV?

- I believe in RP consequence and integrity. I.E; I witnessed today two people fighting. One (even though he wasn't a mage or anything) for some reason had the ability to shoot lightning. He zapped the other fella (not in a Godmode way, they were dice rolling) rather than dying, as my character would have done, had she been zapped, he simply shrugged it off and went to ultra-powerful healer to have all wounds perfectly mended. Furthermore, being guildies, the two acted as nothing had happened EVEN THOUGH ONE JUST SHOT THE OTHER WITH LIGHTNING. Am I approaching this the wrong way in believing RP should have integrity and consequences?