New to FF14 RP/Help with Alts

starryslug

About me/ MMORPG background

Hi there! I've been playing FFXIV since 2014 when ARR was still the newest and hottest thing, and well before separate NA data centers existed. I started on Gilgamesh since I knew friends who played there, and haven't left to this day. However, I've found the server's focus on endgame and raid content to be a bit stifling. I've been lurking this forum for a couple weeks now and think getting back into roleplaying could really be the spark I need to fall back in love with this game. 

However, I don't view my current character on Gilgamesh as "RP" ready, and I'm not ready to transfer either. With the worlds finally being less congested, I created an alt for an OC on Balmung. My main question is this: how do you approach roleplaying on an alt? I don't have the money for a level skip, unfortunately, but I want my character to be a machinist who specializes in crafting. How do you go about roleplaying as an underleveled, beginner character, despite still knowing much about the game?

RP background

I roleplayed often in various forums and with friends when I was in high school, but it's been about 6 years since then. I'm a bit rusty and have no experience with roleplay in MMORPGs. I would love for someone to show me the ropes!

Character ideas/info

My character is Beryl Forst, a female midlander who was adopted by an Elven blacksmith who lives in rural Coerthas. She was raised as an apprentice to her father to turn a profit on their-quality and often ornate art of weapon smithing.

She is a no-nonsense hard-worker who isn't afraid to get her hands dirty. She knows her way around the local merchants and townsfolk, and is able to turn a high profit thanks to her versatility. She takes up all kinds of odd jobs in exchange for coin or materials she can use, but has a general dislike of worldly affairs and the business of adventurers (aside from how it affects her own business, of course.)