Want to Participate in a Research Project?

Eve Agoron

Hello there!

I'm here to inform you all about a research project that I would like to start for my Anthropology university course, and I would like to see if anyone is interested in being a participant! I would like to start off by telling you a little bit about myself and my research. You see, I am not a complete newb, in fact I used to play a lot of WoW when I was younger, and I also played a bit of LOTRO. I was much more of a PVE player and never really delved into the RP aspect of either game. Currently, I am a university undergraduate student majoring in the subject of Anthropology, and I have been given the opportunity to write a paper about a topic that interests me. During the pandemic's early lock down, my partner decided to get me the free trail of ffxiv because he knew I had been interested in getting back into playing MMORPG's. With that, I'm guessing you can tell where I'm going with this. I decided that my topic would be the RP communities of ffxiv. My subject, anthropology, allows me to participate in the lives of others in order to better understand their cultures and behaviors. Which is exactly my hope for this research, I want this project to help in furthering my understanding of Anthropological research methods, but also as a social benefit to me in that I will learn a new way to play a game that I already enjoy playing. And the benefit to the players that do wish to get involved is hopefully that they gain a new friend and community member.