So... I went to my first event. I liked it. How may I proceed?

Vorelie

Hi there!

So I have been interested in RP for awhile, and after doing my researches and homeworks for awhile, I finally went to an event first time, still not knowing whether it is something that I will find enjoyable or not. Turns out that I did - I think I really like it!

Now that I know RP is something that I do enjoy, I am trying to find other people/groups that I may be able to regularly RP, and/or maybe develop a plot (I was hesitant before, as I was not sure if this was something I would like). I was specifically looking over the list of Free Companies, but found myself unable to press the apply button..... shyness, yes indeed I am very shy, but besides that, I have a question.

I found that a majority of Free Companies seems to be centered around a specific theme, be it Ishgardian, Far East, Garlean, etcetera. As I am new to RP and character writing, although I have given much thoughts to the writing of my character, I am not sure how I would be able to figure out what kind of themes would be a good fit for my character. When I was imagining what I wanted to do as an RPer, I was thinking more of interacting with many different types of characters not limited to a specific faction, and it was with that in mind that I wrote my character.

Is there any other FC/Discord/any other group with a more generic theme that would be open to accepting a budding new RPer?

Or, would it be better for me to try to rewrite my character to fit in the themes? I would love to get some in-depth writing going and get to know the community and make RP/IC friends, but right now I am not sure which direction I should steer towards to facilitate that.

I hope the post is clear, I am writing with a very tired mind right now...

Anyways, I am excited to discover this new little thing that I may enjoy - hopefully I can continue!