New & ready to try XIV roleplay

inkycompass

Hello all! New here, looking to get into roleplay--you can call me Ink.

I've been playing XIV since early 2020, but I have been RPing in some form or fashion since high school--typically through play-by-post games in forums and on Dreamwidth, as well as some tabletop experience with D&D, Shadowrun, and Quest. So I have been very interested to explore the RP scene in FF14, and have spent a lot of time looking at people's various carrds. Now that I've finished the 4.0 storyline, I feel like I'm in a better position to start. (For one thing, it means I've gone through the Steppe, so I can be confident that my Xaela is lore-compliant.) I'm on the Crystal datacenter, with my main on Balmung and my alt on Mateus.

My backstory for Dalii is a lancer-botanist from the Steppe. She grew up in a tribe that was unwillingly pushed to the mountainous margins ~50 years ago. Her name is taken from the Mongolian word for a type of rhododendron, so my character concept for her is that she is hardy, showy, and slightly toxic. So that means she is a little overconfident and too willing to get into arguments or fights with people (bad thing if you live in the margins and don't want anyone antagonizing your neighbors or leading the youth to do dangerous things). She worked her way to Eorzea after boldly declaring that she was going to become an adventurer and become very strong and very knowledgeable and show everyone that the mountains didn't have to be an enemy, and absolutely nobody argued with her decision, yay! She's been an independent adventurer for a couple of years and has gone back and forth a few times--so she has some experience but there's still plenty of new adventures out there.