Greetings, RolePlayers!

Falkner

Hi everyone! A very warm greetings from a South East Asia player here!

*bow

Well, I just decided to introduce myself here;

I'm completely new at this game. Got recommended by a friend to try this 'new' FFXIV, and while browsing around for the game's overview, lore, races, etc, I also decided that I'd like to join the game's RP community!

So, in accordance to the "-some common things your fellow RPers may be interested in knowing about you-" thingy, here goes:

-- Gaming Background(s)

In terms of MMORPG, Not really much really;

History-wise, I used to be an avid JRPG gamer in the good old days of good JRPG like Chrono Trigger, Terranigma, Xenogears, Breath of Fire series, Vagrant Story, Final Fantasy Fourth, Fifth, Sixth, Tactics-- oh the list could go on for a little while... 

I lost much of my interest in RPGs ever since the rapid development of new consoles and hardwares with greater processing powers, the  game devs seem to focus way too much on the graphical and eyecandy aspects of their games, not on the storyline and the depth of their characters anymore.

It almost seems that the nowadays its just: "Oh, let's create the most statuesque, picturesque male and female possible, in possession of every positive psychological traits available for a sentient being, clad them in most absurd or revealing outfits possible, and equip them with the biggest, unwieldy weapons possible and make them save the world! Yay profits!".

--apology but I really found myself getting harder and harder to sympathize with the casts of today's RPG games or to get myself engaged in the plot.

For the MMORPG, my first one is probably Ragnarok Online; there I played a bit as a Priest, decided to hate the game with a passion for its brain-dead grinding, spam-everything-because-everything-is-spammable gameplay, and the "priest = helpless healbot" concept.