Returning player - RP curious

Hichu

Hi everybody!:chocobo:

Just like the title says, I'm a returning player, who stopped after a good month of Heavensward. Now that a few patches have been released I wanted to take another look at the game!

I really enjoyed playing it back then, but eventually my Free Company kind of burned out on the game and lost interest, so everyone just... stopped playing. It was a lot of fun while it lasted though! Since I started playing the reboot of FFXIV back when it came out, I have always been interested in RPing, but in the end never found any people to RP with.

So... I wanted to change that this time and find some people beforehand! ^.^

It has to be said, that I never RPed in a MMO before, but I'm not completely unexperienced either. I often RP with people via texts, but since that is a whole different story from an actual avatar moving around and interacting, I'm a little intimidated by this new unknown form of RPing.

Thus I came here to ask some questions! :moogle:

How do I start out? How do RPs ingame work? And how do I find people to RP with?

I already heard that Balmung is the go to server for RPing, so I'm thinking of transfering my character over from Phoenix in the hope that at least the location won't be that much of a problem anymore!

I hope you guys can help me out, so that I can begin this journey prepared and ready!

There is a very in-depth guide right here, which I recommend giving a read through - possibly with a cup of tea or something as it is quite long. 

I can't give you many tips on how to go from one form of roleplaying to another, as I myself started out, at least in a more serious manner, in mmorpgs. One thing I have heard others say when they talk about going from say forum rp to mmorpg-rp is that the latter is a lot more fast paced and that can take some time getting used to.