New RPer - Where to find people?

Nicksy

Hey there!

I'm pretty new to RP on FFXIV and have been struggling to find people to engage with. I'm not really sure how and where to go to engage in RP (I've rped on many other MMO's but haven't done so yet on FFXIV). I've seen the Quicksand, but there's too many AFKers and OOC people there for me to really feel.. immersed and 'safe' (it feels weird, being 'watched' like that). So! Where is it I can go to find people to roleplay with? Is there an area I'm not aware of?

Edit: I'm on Balmung!

Thank you!

Edited by Nicksy

Like you mentioned, the Quicksand is usually the busiest... that doesn't mean best... place to run into people. Otherwise, there really isn't a particularly huge hub like the Quicksand. Most of the main cities have places like the Quicksand (Carline Canopy in Gridania, Drowning Wench in Limsa, Forgotten Knight in Ishgard, etc.) where you'll occasionally find people. Otherwise, you just have to look about in the world.

A good portion (I won't say most as I don't have quantifiable evidence to support it) of RP also happens in the housing areas and personal/company houses themselves.

So, honestly, in my opinion, the best way to find RP is to find a free company or linkshell that has a theme you like and see about joining them. The links are there at the top of this website and can be filtered by server. A sizable handful of those groups (like my own) attempt to do the majority of their RP out in the world in all sorts of different zones.

Edited by AedanBlacke
2 minutes ago, AedanBlacke said: