Long-time RPer making a new home in FFXIV

Hello all,

I'm a newbie to FFXIV - and just created my first character on Mateus - although I have been playing for several weeks on Diabolos, learning the basics and getting comfortable with the game. (Sadly, Mateus was locked to new characters when I first started).  The RP community looks lovely here and I'm excited to see what kind of stories and RP I can get into.

A few things about me as an RPer:

• I've been role-playing for a long time and would say I'm fairly experienced with it.  I started in Ultima Online (Which I still am a part of to this day) - which might give you an idea how long I've been at it - and eventually graduated to other MMORPGs, (WoW, LOTRO - which I haven't been at in a while) and more recently MMO survival games (Life is Feudal, DayZ for a brief stint.) 
  • What I fancy most about it usually sits in the category of heavy RP. I will have a character fairly well thought out in the beginning allowing room for changes and improvisation. I rarely go OOC unless it's necessary. And I love being involved in on-going storylines even if it's simply as a background participant.
  •  Actual end-game content, or the typical grind of MMOs are usually a secondary goal for me. Though I have found I'm thoroughly enjoying FFXIV as a game thus far. It doesn't feel quite the same as other fantasy MMORPG's like WoW or ESO, it actually feels like I'm playing a Final Fantasy game - the in-game lore and story is enjoyable! Which is shocking to me. Haha.