RP Combat or: How I Learned to Stop Making Convoluted Combat Systems That Nobody Cares About

Valen

I've been RPing in FFXIV for almost 5 years. I've attended and hosted more RP events than I can remember, and many of them (too many of them) were combat based. Some of them were freeform. Some of them used /random. Some of them used /random with associated character sheets. Some of them used the last 2 digits of /random. Some of them were on Discord. One of them even used a 3rd party 0-999 random number generator because the person hosting the event was convinced that /random was rigged. Yet among these dozens and dozens of combat RPs I've been involved with, all but 5 of them that immediately come to mind sucked to varying degrees of suckage. Why did they suck? Well, to answer that question we need to first address the very large elephant in the room.

MMO Combat RP sucks.

Sure. We can all cherry pick a handful of times where combat RP was fun and enjoyable, but all of you who've participated in your fair share of combat RP know exactly what I'm talking about. Having to wait 15-20 minutes for your turn to say "I hit the dude", spin the wheel on /random, and roll a 32. Having to navigate through chat with a microfilm reader to find the part you missed about your character getting thrown off a cliff because it got buried beneath a sea of text. Of course let's also not forget the iconic Alt+Tabbing to Youtube for 90% of the event because you literally have nothing for your character to do. Yet despite these very glaring, difficult to fix flaws, we still dive into combat RP again, and again, and again, because at the end of the day we want for our characters to be the cool guys who swing big swords and hit people in the face with fireballs.

So at this point you're probably wondering "Valen, is this a rant post or do you have a point you're trying to get to?" The answers to both of these questions is yes.